EEMI Spring 2016 Agenda Includes Four Major Event

January 01, 2015

Our new Environmental and Energy Management Institute entered 2016 with a full plate of sponsored events. Following are the events scheduled in the Spring 2016 semester:

February 18, 2016 - Symposium on “P3s and Private Capital in the Water Sector: Moving the Ball Forward.” This event will focus on issues involved with financing water and wastewater infrastructure projects via public-private partnerships.

The event is scheduled for 9:00am - 12:00pm in the Lehman Auditorium of the Science and Engineering Hall. SEAS Dean David Dolling will open the symposium, followed by the following speakers.
➢ Kent Hiteshew - Director, Office of State and Local Finance - U.S. Department of the Treasury
➢ Michael Deane - Executive Director, National Association of water Companies
➢ Professor Royce Francis - Environmental and Energy Management Institute
➢ Greg Cannito - Managing Director, Corvias Solutions
➢ Daniel Sugarman - Managing Director, KWP Capital, LLC
➢ Tracy Mehan - Executive Director of Government Affairs, American Water Works Association
➢ Debra Coy - Partner, XPV Water Partners, LLC

February 19, 2016Inaugural EEMI Advisory Board meeting. This event will kick off activity of the EEMI Advisory Board since the Institute’s chartering in April 2015.

The meeting is scheduled to be held from 10:00am to 12:30pm in Room 2000B of the Science and Engineering Hall. SEAS Dean David Dolling will open the meeting. Attending the meeting will be the EEMI Advisory Board members:
➢ Dr. Lilia Abron - President, PEER Consultants, Washington, DC
➢ Alex A. Beehler - Independent Consultant; first Chief Sustainability Officer, Department of Defense; former Acting Deputy Under Secretary, Installations & Environment, DoD
➢ Dr. Lisa Benton-Short – Professor of Geography, Chair, Department of Geography, Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, GW
➢ James L. Connaughton - Executive Vice President, EVP C3 Energy, San Francisco, CA; former Chairman, U.S. Council on Environmental Quality
➢ Dr. John D. Graham - Dean, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN; former Director, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, Office of Management and Budget
➢ Marianne Horinko – President of The Horinko Group, and former Acting Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
➢ John Knappenberger – President and CEO, ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board, Milwaukee, WI
➢ Dr. Mary McKiel – President and CEO, The McKiel Group, and member of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors; former Standards Executive, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
➢ G. Tracy Mehan III - Principal, Environmental Science and Policy Division, Cadmus, Inc., Arlington, VA; former EPA Assistant Administrator (Office of Water), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; former Director, Missouri Department of Natural Resources
➢ Carol Singer Neuvelt - Executive Director, National Association for Environmental Management, Washington, DC
➢ Dr. Winston Porter - President, Energy & Environmental Strategies, Savannah, GA; former Assistant Administrator (Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
➢ Roger Strelow - Professor, Florida Gulf Coast University, Ft. Myers, FL; former Assistant Administrator, Air and Waste Management, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; former Senior Vice President for Corporate Environmental Programs, General Electric, Inc.
➢ Dr. Michael D. Ware - Managing Director, Advance Capital Markets, Inc., Washington, DC
➢ John Paul Woodley, Jr. – Principal, Advantus Strategies; former Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works); former Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia

April 26, 2016Workshop on “Sustainable Transportation Fuels.” This workshop is being conducted in partnership with Arizona State University Lightworks ( It is scheduled to be conducted from 10:00am to 5:00pm in Room 2000B of the Science and Engineering Hall.

June 27-29, 21065th International Engineering Systems Symposium (CESUN Conference). The conference is being conducted by The Council of Engineering Systems Universities (CESUN) and hosted by the Engineering Management and Systems Engineering Department, SEAS. EEMI professor Scott Sklar will serve as a keynote speaker at the event. CESUN was established in 2004 by universities offering educational and research programs in engineering systems. CESUN membership includes more than 50 universities to work together developing engineering systems as a new field of study. An overall objective of the Council is to broaden engineering education and practice. Further information on the event can be seen at